25
Aug
08

Photos of a Mountain

The light was inviting this afternoon. I set off to see some pretty things. And to buy groceries, but that came later. First, here’s the walk-up shot of Mt. Ascutney, from New Hampshire Route 12-A, looking south. The Windsor-Cornish covered bridge is there too. Until very recently, this was the longest covered bridge in the US. Now there’s some other bridge built just for the purpose of making it longer than “ours”. The nerve of some people. But I digress. Here’s the picture.

It is the picture that the average photo-taking tourist gets, after stopping the car on the side of the road, often into the poison ivy. Artists paint this view. Everyone sees it if they are going south, or if they are going north and manage to turn around in their seats. Which can be dangerous as a driver.

If you drive a little further north, there’s another turnout between some cornfields. (See the corn?) If you wanted to, you could pull off here, get out of your car, and kinda get down low behind some interesting-looking plants and move around till the mountain is in the background. Like this:

If you’re really lucky, no one will see you do this, because it looks really silly. Especially if you are wearing a baseball hat, which I was. But it was worth it. I like the out-of-focus corn. I don’t like the spiderweb. Oh well.

Then, for a change of p.o.v., you could go across the river to Vermont and take a walk in Paradise Park in Windsor. To get this shot, I ducked under some trees and stepped into the bog and stuck my neck way out till I got the perspective I wanted. When I climbed out I was covered in stick-tights. (I don’t actually know if this is their name, but it’s what I call any of those seeds that plants stick to whoever walks by.)

I think it is crooked, but I am not sure. I think my head is crooked. That would explain a lot.

This last one…okay, technically Mt. Ascutney is not in this one. But I liked it and this is MY blog, so here it is.

4 Responses to “Photos of a Mountain”


  1. August 26, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Ah, the things we do for a good picture! LOL. Yes, the NERVE of OH purposely building a bridge JUST to beat Cornish! Grrr . . . Well, I STILL say that Champlain is a Great Lake, so there!

  2. 2 Old man
    August 26, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Nice to see your latest endeavors.

  3. August 28, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Beautiful pictures. In case you care, an odd factoid: PA (the state, not Dad) used to have the longest covered bridge in the world over the Susquehanna River between Columbia and Wrightsville. Then, during the Civil War Union troops burned down the whole thing to keep the Confederate Army from crossing the river. You can still see the old stone pillars that used to hold it up. Kind of eerie.

  4. September 3, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Gorgeous shots! I love that view on 12A. I drive it for work all the time and am just in love with it. That photo is worth blowing up and framing. Excellent job.


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,171 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

