10
Oct
07

She’s Going for It!

I debated whether to post on this topic (potty training) or how to get your kids to watch less TV. Since my TV tip was not very practical for the average reader*, I decided upon the potty one.

If you’ve been following the saga of my three year old’s love/hate relationship with the potty, you know that I’ve almost had it up to HERE with cleaning up pee (I wonder how the children will feel in later years knowing I’ve broadcast their toileting habits hither and yon.) and washing several little outfits a day. Well, guess what! Something seems to work!

Gannon, who has no trouble in the bathroom, has a chart upon which he puts a jewel sticker for every book he reads. Acadia has been interested in his progress, so I made her a chart of her own. She can put a jewel on a flower petal if she initiates a potty session that results in an actual pee or (and this would really be something!) poop. If she fills up all the flowers (8 petals worth), she earns a trip to Friendly’s for ice cream.

OK, so far she has only filled up 2 petals since yesterday afternoon. But she is three and a half, and those were the first times she actually told me that she had to use the toilet. So I am hopeful.

I drew the flowers myself (aren’t I a wonder),but you could easily use a page from a coloring book in some theme beloved by your preschooler. Ensuing treats are also customizable. By the way, her reward for being completely potty-trained is ballet class. You may not have noticed this, but ballerinas don’t wear diapers.

I’d put a picture of the chart on this post, but my camera’s battery needs to be charged and, once again, I can’t find the charger. Weird, because we always plug it into the same outlet and keep it in the same place, and yet it is continuously on the lam.

*My TV tip is to have your television catch on fire while you are watching it with the kids. Then have the fire department come, who will recommend that you keep it out on the lawn for a couple of hours to be sure it’s cooled down. After that, just keep it out there since it doesn’t work anyway. It has worked for me! But, like I said, perhaps not so practical.

This post is part of Rocks In My Dryer’s Works-For-Me Wednesday blog carnival. Check it out for more great tips!

6 Responses to “She’s Going for It!”


  1. October 10, 2007 at 9:02 am

    I think I might try that tv tip. 😉

  2. October 10, 2007 at 9:12 am

    I feel your pain regarding a resistant potty trainer. I just finally got my four and a half year old son to potty train. I tried almost everything. What it finally came down to for me was buying a potty for his two year old brother. I figured it was time he could start getting interested in going potty. You’re probably asking why I didn’t already have one. Yeah, well, that’s what happens in a house of four boys. Something flimsy like your average wal-mart brand potty’s don’t last long in a house full of testosterone. Not when taking it apart to see how it works and losing some of the things that connect one part to the other. But I digress. Not two days after I bought said potty for the two year old, the four year old finally decided he was going to use the toilet and he’s been doing it sucessfully for a week now, with only a couple accidents. Yay! I think he didn’t want to be outdone by his little brother. This is a wonderful idea, and I might try it with the two year old later down the road if needed. Ta for now dahling!

  3. October 10, 2007 at 11:44 am

    Wanna hear more about the TV fire idea! I’ve tried taking the batteries out of the remote–Oh No! The TV is broken! Guess we’ll just have to play with your six thousand toys today!

  4. October 10, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Believe it or not, my reward for my older son (now just about 4 and potty trained for about a month) is also ballet lessons!

  5. 5 canearl
    October 10, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    That’s a great idea. I’ve done the sticker chart for my daughter, but need to put a reward with it. I think that that will work much better.

  6. October 11, 2007 at 8:51 am

    One further note, I always give two stickers or whatever the reward is for a poop. (Right now we’re using jellybeans.)


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,153 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

