15
Aug
07

Monarch Search 2007

The kids and I went on an insect trek. We found more than insects.
spider and babies

Ooohhh…creepy. I think this is a spider and her babies, but I could be wrong. I suppose it could be a spider and her second breakfast.

munching monarch caterpillar

Our quarry: the monarch butterfly caterpillar, doing what it does best: munching milkweed. The kids now can spot a milkweed plant from across a field.

nettles

Too bad we weren’t better at spotting stinging nettles. Don’t get into this stuff. Gannon and I did, and boy does it live up to its name.

kids with bugs

Happy kids with bugs.

cicada skin

Our last find was this cool cicada skin, found on the bark of a tall pine tree. Doesn’t it look nasty? If I were writing a screenplay for a horror movie where some bug turns giant-sized, I think this one could do well in an audition.

Thanks, Pat and Carol, for letting us traipse around your field while you were away. Oh, didn’t you know we were there?  😉

3 Responses to “Monarch Search 2007”


  1. August 15, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    EEeeewwwww!! But my kids would say “cool”! I just found out that the monarch caterpillars are making their crysalis’ soon and come out in just a few short weeks as beautiful butterflies (of course some are already out because I see them EVERYWHERE lately.) Anyway, might be a cook idea to grab a caterpillar soon. (Suuurrreee, it would.)

    Oh, I didn’t know you liked Al! LOL. My kids really enjoy him and he’s been around forever. I can’t resist good parody (that’s one of the reasons I enjoy Rush Limbaugh WHEN I get to listen.) Al’s a real talented one, too. If he comes back to our area, I’ll let you know!

  2. August 15, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Oops, that was supposed to say “good” idea! LOL.

  3. 3 beautifulheritage
    August 16, 2007 at 10:45 am

    What great photos! Sorry about the stinging nettle, though. Owie.

    Im adding you to my blogroll so I don’t forget to visit often!


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,123 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

