04
May
07

Potty Training/Heart Training

bear on a pottyI hate. Potty. Training. I really do. My three year old is just a bit past the beginning of this process. You know, the part where she wants to wear underwear, but doesn’t do a thing about the toilet till after she’s wet? I have been getting grumpier and grumpier about this process. I’ve made a sticker chart for her, and I am considering making one for myself, with a big ole Dove ice cream bar at the end as a reward. Maybe if I list some of the good things about this experience, I will feel better.

  1. She is a once-a day pooper, and it’s of an easy-to-clean-up nature.
  2. She has enough control not to pee on the furniture.
  3. She tells me when she is wet. Usually.
  4. Those cloth training pants soak up a lot, and I hardly ever have to sop up any puddles on the floor.
  5. I’m really keeping up with the laundry these days.
  6. Every time I change her pants, she gives me a huge hug and says, “I love you so much, Mommy!”
  7. I am learning about my weaknesses (i.e. impatience, laziness, selfishness with my time, my love of comfort).
  8. I’ve had lots of chances to use my new backpack, stuffed with her entire waist-down wardrobe when we go out.
  9. We’ve been saving lots of gasoline lately because I have been sticking very close to the house.
  10. People eventually get the idea….it won’t last forever.

Okay, that’s ten sorta positive things about potty training. Do I feel better? Not really. See, I’m still impatient, lazy, selfish, and desiring my own comfort. Playing Pollyanna doesn’t change my heart…too bad, because I’m pretty good at the Pollyanna stuff. God is changing me, though. Even when the change feels slow in coming, it is coming.

So He’s changing me while I’m changing Acadia. Any guesses as to which of us will “get it” first?

0 Responses to “Potty Training/Heart Training”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,171 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

