28
Mar
07

Goodbye, Little Pink Pants…

*sniff*

pink robeezSome clothes that my kids wear just get into my heart, and I hate to see them go. Gannon had a little orange and blue football jersey when he was a toddler, and when I see it now memories of that time come flooding back. His blue and tan hat he used to wear as an infant can never be worn by anyone else. Acadia’s little pink Robeez with the kitties on them, which she wore when she was learning to walk, are in my cedar chest. They have all been outgrown.

And now another beloved piece of clothing leaves the dresser drawer. Acadia’s been wearing a certain pair of pink pants for over a year now (well, you know what I mean–she wears them now and then, not like constantly or anything–don’t be so literal!). They were given to us in one of several bags from a family friend (bless her!), so they have been through at least one other little girl. The pants went from being comfy knits to fitting-just-great leggings, to recently being capris worn under dresses.

On Sunday, alas, these versatile, long-lived pants received a hole in the knee.

not these pants, but almostThey were really becoming too worn and too small anyway. But I seriously loved them for some reason. After church, we were all out playing in the street (I’ll just let you imagine that however you may) and Acadia tripped and fell onto the pavement and did the Four Point Skid. Her hands and knees were scraped up, and her little pants were torn. I’m embarrassed to say that I think I was sadder about the pants than the girl in them who was crying, maybe because I knew her boo-boos were so temporary, but the pants were lost forever.

Anyway, I am not saving the little pink pants. They are going into the trash. But they will always have a place in my heart. A little, size 2T place. With lettuce edges.

2 Responses to “Goodbye, Little Pink Pants…”


  1. 1 Trisha
    March 29, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Freaky!! When Angela told me she had another friend like me, I thought she was exagerating! I can so relate to the first post that I read! I had to comment! I’m looking forward to reading more about you and your family!

  2. 2 mary
    March 30, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    I also get sad everytime I have to retire something Cara has worn for a long time… even putrid looking bibs with spit up stains all over them. Come to think of it, I just got sentimental the other day when I saw a spit up stain on the carpet. *sigh* This is the type of thing that will embarass our children when they are teenagers. Heh heh.


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,130 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

