31
Jan
07

Story Time


At a trip to the library today Acadia found a book for us to check out. I knew she wouldn’t want to listen to it, since it is what is known as a chapter book, but I got it anyway, being too weak to put up with any fussing over the matter.

I am glad I took it home. It is the best book I have read out loud to Gannon in a long time! The title, My Father’s Dragon, is the first book in a trilogy (yay!) by Ruth Stiles Gannett. It was published in the 1940’s. Gannon loves the adventure of it, and the outlandishness of talking animals, the snoring whale, the boy stowing away on a ship, and the whole idea of a kid running away from home to rescue a dragon.

You can’t find this stuff in a “modern” children’s book. It’s simply not accepted these days to put certain things in literature for kids: keeping secrets from parents, animals that will talk to you and then eat you, mothers who wear aprons. Not that these things are always good, but this book is just so innocently adventurous that it makes Gannon plead for more. And I love that!

The book reminds me of Baby Island,* another junior adventure tale about two girls who are stranded on an island, this time with a few babies they have to care for. In this novel by Carol Ryrie Brink, things always work out for the girls and their time on the island is actually pretty fun. It’s a captivating story. I think Gannon would get a kick out of it even though it is geared toward an older audience than he would make. Baby Island’s been around since 1937.

*Not to be confused with Baby Foo Island, an imaginary land created by Gannon and his friend Ryan. The two islands are nothing alike, as far as I know, and neither Ryan nor Gannon has heard the story of Baby Island.

0 Responses to “Story Time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,130 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

