01
Jan
07

What I Learned This Year: 2006

I kind of talked about this last night at a New Year’s gathering, attended by a couple of the people who read this blog, so would it be redundant to post this? Nah. At least one person out there will receive this as new information. And that’s what I’m all about.

At the end of something, like a year or a job, I tend to look back and think about how it’s changed me. Yes, I am introspective. If I weren’t married, I’m sure I’d end up going insane with thinking about thinking. At least with Brian around I can get some perspective now and then instead of turning into a crazy cat lady.

On the spiritual side of things:

  • I became more aware that just as Jesus took on my sin without Himself becoming sinful, I take on His holiness without becoming holy in and of myself; it’s not what I do, but Who loves me.
  • I saw that there are Christians all over the world, and that the Body of Christ extends far beyond the walls of my own church.
  • I have more of an idea of God’s sovereignty and holiness.
  • I have an increased desire to share God’s love with the people around me, and I have more compassion/empathy/something when I see people hurting.

Regarding the more practical (although I do believe theology is very practical):

  • I learned that pounding a nail into a plaster wall can make a much bigger hole than you intended.
  • I figured out how to navigate iPod controls.
  • I discovered that if your paved driveway has thick weeds growing up through the cracks, it’ll be hard to shovel when the snow finally comes.

And in family life:

  • I found that I totally love teaching Gannon kindergarten, and that I’ll be homeschooling as much for myself as I will be for the children.
  • I decided that being in a neighborhood where everyone but you owns a dog is just as good as owning one yourself. Even better, perhaps.
  • I was taught the wisdom of never leaving Acadia alone with a writing implement.
  • I learned how to make really yummy cinnamon rolls.

How has 2006 changed your life? You can never get it back, and now you have 2007.

0 Responses to “What I Learned This Year: 2006”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,130 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

