18
Dec
06

Grumpy Mommy Sighs

I am having a bad mommy day. I want to rant about what is bugging me about having to take care of this particular 2 year old who is cute as a button, the apple of my eye, and a pain in the you-know-what. If I complain a little, is that okay? I don’t think I need advice or suggestions. Just validation. **

Potty training is stinking. Really. She has peed on the floor several times already today. I am not liking it at all. She has not gotten the hang of pooping while sitting down, and so every day she does it in her pants. I just gave her a bath and she peed all down her legs about 10 minutes later. Everyone gets it eventually…you don’t even remember potty training Gannon, and that was certainly not a particularly easy case. Relax!

All the other one wants to do is watch tv or play computer games. Says there’s nothing to do in this house. Boredom is good; it spurs thinking and invention. He’ll live, and so will you.

I can’t understand anything she says to me today, and it’s ticking her off. Me too. Humor does wonders in this situation. Lighten up and try it.

“I wish Dad was here,” says the boy.
“Me too,” she says.
“Me too,” I say, because the kids have a wonderful Daddy.

It is after 1:00 and I still have not gotten out of my pjs or even put in my contacts. Every time I head upstairs I notice another puddle on the floor or someone screams for me. Or I notice something that I remember has to be done, or at least I think it has to be done, and so I do it. I have weeded out the kids’ outgrown clothes, cleaned the girl’s closet, given baths, baked cookies, and set up a computer account for the boy. But I still have morning breath and my hair is greasy! “Mama said there’d be days like this…” Make sure you tell this story the next time you get together with the other moms, because there’s someone out there feeling guilty for doing the same thing.

I will be much happier soon. Don’t worry. 🙂 Psalm 73 says, “And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

**I have just re-read this post and I am feeling better already. I’ll now put my more rational thoughts in italics.

2 Responses to “Grumpy Mommy Sighs”


  1. 1 PatL
    December 18, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    Awww, there, there, mommy, it will all be OK. But those potty training blues would definitely get my vote for major downer.

    (But this is from someone who counts any day when I’m still in my jammies after 1:00 as a bonus)

  2. 2 Mary
    December 20, 2006 at 12:58 pm

    For the record, I haven’t had a shower in three days. You are not alone. Hang in there, Mommy.


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,130 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

