11
Oct
06

Sad Stuff

First of all, a note in the just-so-you-know department: I’m not writing this because I feel depressed. At least I don’t think I do. Not extremely, anyway.

Sometimes people get sad. Lots of things happen that make people feel sad. Lots of them are legitimate reasons, I’d say.

Someone’s teenage son receives a damaging blow to the head and faces years of recovery.

Someone else has two alcoholic brothers whose lives are swinging out of control.

After being in remission from leukemia, someone dies from pneumonia, leaving his wife and 12 year old son without a husband and dad.

Someone struggles with dysfunctional and abusive family relationships, enough to cause her to question the goodness of God.

Someone’s baby dies only 17 weeks after he was conceived.

Someone feels so confused and filled with anxiety that she goes to the emergency room, afraid of what she will do to herself.

All these Someones are people I know. It makes me sad. Not that I know them, but that I feel helpless to ease their sadness. I have the hope that Paul wrote about in Ephesians, that I have been made alive, raised up, and seated with Christ in the heavenly places, and that God is using me to do good works that He’s had planned for me since forever ago. Some of these people I mentioned also have this hope. But it is not always easy to keep my eyes on that hopeful future and that overarching purpose when I see how much people hurt. This life is a blip on the radar of eternity, and yet it counts for so much. In our current experience, this is all there is.

Is that why babies cry when they wake up in the dark? Because they can’t see beyond their solitude and discomfort?

Sometimes I feel like crying when I wake up in the dark, too.

I am thankful beyond words that through Paul God gave me the book of Ephesians. It keeps my heart from taking over my head at three in the morning.

3 Responses to “Sad Stuff”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    October 13, 2006 at 9:01 am

    Great photos of the kids.. Thanks for posting them.

    Yes, it is hard when you see so much going on with those your acquainted… its’ just testing your roots..!!

  2. 2 Bonnie
    October 17, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    Hmmmm…I left a kinda long and what I hoped was profound comment, but alas it was not ever posted. Not sure why that was. Oh, well. It went something along the line of seeing how imperfect our world really is. It is filled with hurt, pain, loss, loneliness, destruction, sickness, etc., etc., etc. It is only when the waves of these rush over us and take our breath away can we begin to understand the hope mentioned in the book of Ephesians. This hope is the fresh breath breathed into us by the Spirit which renews and strengthens us. In Him we live and breath and have our being. There are some days when we awaken that our only goal for the day may be to breathe…not a bad goal actually, as long as the breath comes from the proper source. My prayer is that you are refreshed with HUGE gulps of “holy and perfect” air as you grow and mature in the midst of all the
    imperfection around you.

  3. 3 Eva
    October 18, 2006 at 11:25 am

    Stinkin’ blogger beta switchover….


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,171 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

