10
Oct
06

Fall Leaf Hike

Gannon had the idea of going to the Montshire this morning, and being the spontaneous mom that I am, off we went. Not right away…first we did handwriting practice and reading. Then we packed lunch, grabbed jackets, and headed north.

The kids brought their trick or treat pumpkin buckets in which to collect leaves for us to bring home and do a project of some sort. We also brought a backpack, water bottle, and binoculars. We saw lots of chipmunks and red squirrels. The 1.1 mile walk along the Ridge Trail took us about an hour and a half. Acadia walked all of it but maybe 500 feet, where she rode on my shoulders. Gannon loved using the binoculars and keep telling us how he is a scientist. Not that he wants to be one when he grows up, but that he is one now. I suppose he’s right.

Acadia used the binoculars too, as you will see below.

The kids both loved the Bird’s Eye View, a treehouse sort of thing that takes you way up in the leaves. It was made especially cool by the fact that Gannon’s started enjoying the Magic Tree House stories on CD.

1 Response to “Fall Leaf Hike”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    October 11, 2006 at 3:08 pm

    THANKS FOR THE PHOTOS…


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,130 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

