03
May
06

The Sunny Weekend

We’ve had sunny weather for a while, but yesterday and today have been rainy. I’m not complaining at all; I like spring rain a lot. It brings with it all sorts of shades of green that you’ll never see anywhere else. Even the boxelder trees are looking nice, which is really saying something. The one thing I don’t like is that sun energizes me, while cloudy days tend to make me want to snuggle in bed with the latest edition of Creating Keepsakes and a pot of chai. That’s a luxury, however, that this wife and mom can’t afford today. Especially after being away all this past weekend at a women’s retreat at Singing Hills.

The retreat was as near to perfect as such a thing can be, I guess. The speaker was Mary E. Barth* of Full Circle Ministries. She is fun and personal and vulnerable and biblical. Her humor is the best. And she knows just how to tell her stories to get people to feel the emotion she wants. In fact, she had me in tears on two different occasions, and that’s no small feat. She spoke on examining the treasures in our lives to be sure that we’re being kingdom builders.

A time of singing preceded each talk, and the song leader was both talented and sincere. Unfortunately (in my opinion), she was also slow. In her playing, I mean. We sang “Shout to the Lord” and into my mind popped an image of Darlene Zschech with a mic, jumping in slow motion. I found myself trying to make her speed up, but it availed me naught. Others noticed the dragginess as well, and this was very evident when in one song we held out the word “worship”. (Try it. Wooorrrrrrrrr[sssssshhhhhhh]rrrrrrrshiip.) But all in all, it was great.

Additionally, and for some (including myself, I must admit), principally, we all got to scrapbook for hours on end. I was very happy with my album at the close of the event. Four of us from church sat at the same table, and it was so fun to be with them for the weekend. I’m thankful for my sisters in Christ.

*I wonder if she’s any relation to Karl Barth….

0 Responses to “The Sunny Weekend”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,171 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

