27
Apr
06

"You’ll Find it in Balzac".

On a recent trip to the library I picked up a cute-looking picture book for the kids. On the cover was a family of three penguins, all happy and snuggly. I flipped through it and saw more of the same beautiful illustrations. As I waited for my turn to sign out the books, I read a bit of it and realized it was promoting homosexual relationships as being just another legitimate choice.

Yep, these were gay penguins. And it’s a true story.

I, being intrigued and horrified that such a book exists, didn’t return it to the shelf but rather signed it out and took it home. The pictures are great. I didn’t read it to the kids, or even let them know I had it. I’ll leave the rest of that story for Brian to write about. He writes much better about things like that than I do.

But there’s more to the story, something that I doubt will be making up the sequel to this charming children’s tale. Roy and Silo broke up in September. Silo has hooked up with a “hot-feathered home-wrecker,” reported Fox News. A female penguin from California. And that’s all I will say about that.*

On a slightly related note, for all your penguin news needs, turn to Penguin News, penguin news from around the world brought to you by Lisa Richardson. It’s a feature of the New Zealand Penguins website, which gets an average of 328 hits a day (otherwise known as 326 more hits than my blog). I am hoping to get more hits by putting the phrase “penguin news” into this paragraph as much as possible. Isn’t that how it works?

*In case I am being too vague, as I am often accused of being, I think families should be comprised of a male and a female human and their children (biological offspring or adopted) and that teaching children that homosexual relationships are normal is completely wrong. Please feel free to opine, making use of the comment link below.

And now, just for fun, here’s a picture of my kids.

3 Responses to “"You’ll Find it in Balzac".”


  1. 1 PatL
    May 2, 2006 at 6:19 am

    *In case I am being too vague, as I am often accused of being, I think families should be comprised of a male and a female human and their children (biological offspring or adopted)

    … children optional?

  2. 2 Eva
    May 2, 2006 at 9:56 am

    I guess I’d say children are possibly optional.

  3. 3 TimmyTime
    May 4, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    It’s amazing what society tells us we should teach our children now. I can’t say that I am surprised, but only because I heard a news story recently about a children’s book read in a classroom that promoted same sex families. As you can imagine, parents complained! At that point, if I were a parent in that classroom, I would seriously consider homeschooling.

    On another note – thank you for visiting my blog!


Leave a Reply

RUNNING HOME


My blog. Herein read entries related to who and what is important to me. Feel free to leave comments. I feel free to delete them if I don't like them. So there. By reading about my life, readers should expect to begin to see their own lives as increasingly more organized and sophisticated, their homes cleaner and neater.

Why This Blog?

Well, mostly this is for my family to see pictures and read anecdotes about the kids. It's also a venue for telling the story of my struggles and victories in my life as a Christian, a wife, a mother, and a teacher. Occasionally I toss in some weird or touching item that I've found.

What’s Christianity All About?

The Gospel is the news that Jesus Christ, the Righteous One, died for our sins and rose again, eternally triumphant over all his enemies, so that there is now no condemnation for those who believe, but only everlasting joy. [as said by John Piper]

running home’s archives

running home’s most popular posts (over the last 48 hours)

In Case You're Interested...

  • 28,130 clickies to my blog so far (bring your friends!)
MikeHuckabee.com - I Like Mike!

Here’s the Blogring!


Christian Women Online
Blog Ring

Join | List | Random

